Editorial Photography

© 2013 Faith Nelson

© 2013 Faith Nelson

So second year has come around quite fast and currently we are doing intense, week-long briefs. For our consumerism module, week two we had to capture a single image which explores a set target audience in a truthful, unedited light. We had three sets of people to choose from; Urban Youth, Mature Workforce and Real Cornwall.

I chose Mature Workforce and centred my project around an old chap named Brian who owns a woodwork studio close to where I live. I spent a couple of hours with Brian and his wife Margaret to really get to grips with what he lives for and how his shop came about. Whilst spending time with Brian he made me a handmade wooden pen and in return I have printed out both of the above pictures to return as a thank you for their time.

I thoroughly enjoy this project as it allowed me to escape from the studio and explore where I live. I also enjoyed talking to locals, tourists and shop-owners as I feel it allowed me to build up my confidence here in Falmouth and have a sense of ‘community’.

Leave a Reply

