Leaf experiment

During a tutorial with Clinton Cahill, I discussed how I planned to combine nature with human sculptures to show how they are entwined and interdependent on one another. Clinton then suggested why didn’t make the sculptures out of nature, which brings me to the below experiment…
I tried to make a hand out leaves, first making a skeleton with plaster of paris and then moulding the leaves around the hand via PVA and water. As you can see the leaves did not want to bend! And looking at these pictures I’m crying with laughter at trying to turn myself into a bloody tree. So although I have had some really helpful suggestions from other students on how you can fix the leaves in to shape, further research has led me to an idea which I feel is stronger for my practice.

 

Leave a Reply

